Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

Billie Eilish
Billie Eilish performs at the 2019 ASCAP Pop Music Awards

Jeff Lynne, Blondie, Billie Eilish Among Honorees At 2019 ASCAP Pop Music Awards

862 0

LOS ANGELES (CelebrityAccess) — ASCAP, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, held the 36th annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards, with Songwriter of the Year going to first time winner Louis Bell for his work on songs including “Better Now” (Post Malone), “Havana” (Camila Cabello Feat. Young Thug) and “Wolves” (Selena Gomez & Marshmello).

“The Middle” written by Stefan Johnson and Anton Zaslavski (Zedd), was named Song of the Year, while Most Streamed Song of the Year went to Drake’s hit “God’s Plan” which was co-written by Ronald “Cardo” La Tour, Matthew “Boi-1da” Samuels and Noah “40” Shebib.

Pop music icon Jeff Lynne, leader of the progressive rock group ELO, was honored with the ASCAP Founders Award, for his career which spans more than five decades. Lynn was presented with the award by the noted Eagles guitarist and fellow Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Joe Walsh. Previous recipients include Elvis Costello, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Tom Petty, Patti Smith, Stevie Wonder, and Neil Young.

After accepting the award, Lynn treated the audience to a performance that included his hits “Telephone Line,” “Evil Woman” and “All Over the World.”

Debbie Harry, Chris Stein and Clem Burke of iconic punk and new wave group Blondie received the ASCAP Golden Note Award for their long careers and outsized influence on the worlds of music, fashion, and art. The group was on hand to perform their hits “Call Me,” “Long Time” and “Heart of Glass.

Actor Julia Roberts presented the ASCAP Vanguard Award to Billie Eilish and her co-songwriter/brother FINNEAS. The Vanguard Award, which recognizes ASCAP members whose work is helping to shape the future of music, has previously been presented to a select list of artists that includes Portugal. The Man, St. Vincent, Nine Inch Nails, Janelle Monáe, Beastie Boys and Björk.

The awards took place at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.

The full list of honorees

Founders Award
Jeff Lynne

Vanguard Award
Billie Eilish & FINNEAS

Golden Note Award
Clem Burke, Debbie Harry & Chris Stein of Blondie

Songwriter of the Year
Louis Bell

Publisher of the Year

Independent Publisher of the Year

The Middle
Writers: Anton Zaslavski (aka Zedd) Stefan Johnson
Publishers: 1916 PUBLISHING LLC, Kobalt Music, Universal Music Publishing Group, Zedd Music Empire

God’s Plan
Writers: Ronald “Cardo” La Tour, Matthew “Boi-1da” Samuels, Noah “40” Shebib
Publishers: 1Damentional Publishing, Cardo On The Beat, Sony/ATV Tunes LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group

Join CelebrityAccess Now