Myspace 'Accidentally' Loses All Content Uploaded Before 2016

Myspace ‘Accidentally’ Loses All Content Uploaded Before 2016

2548 0

(CelebrityAccess) – Myspace has permanently lost every piece of content uploaded to its site before 2016. The company is blaming a faulty server migration for the mass deletion, which includes millions of songs, photos and videos stored on its servers.

More than 50 million tracks from 14 million artists have been lost, including songs by the likes of Lily Allen, Arctic Monkeys, Calvin Harris, Panic! At The Disco and countless others whose careers were launched using the Myspace platform.

A disastrous relaunch in 2013 cleared much of the text content on the site, including wall posts between users, however, music and images were left intact until this most recent mishap.

Although Myspace quietly issued a statement regarding the deletion last July, the revelation that millions of files can never be recovered only began to circulate among the masses this past weekend.

Once the news broke online, a disclaimer banner, which has since been deleted, appeared at the top of Myspace’s music player page. It read:

“As a result of a server migration project, any photos, videos, and audio files you uploaded more than three years ago may no longer be available on or from Myspace. We apologise for the inconvenience and suggest that you retain your backup copies. If you would like more information, please contact our data protection officer.”

News of Myspace’s mass-deletion has already begun to draw comparisons to other early internet communities that have closed down in a similar fashion including Geocities and more recently Google Plus. Some online users have also begun to speculate that the deletion was intentional on the part of Myspace, rather than some sort of accident, as the company has stated publicly.