Find tour dates and live music events for all your favorite bands and artists in your city! Get concert tickets, news and more!

  • Analytics
  • Tour Dates

AIM Indie Awards Announces Nominees, 2 Winners

LONDON (Hypebot) – The Association of Independent Music has announced the 2013 nominees for it's UK based indie music awards. Along with the nominees came the announcement of two winners: Billy Bragg for Outstanding Contribution to Music and Geoof Travis of Rough Trade will receive the Pioneer Award.

Winners will be announced at the AIM Awards ceremony, taking place at The Brewery in London on September 3.

A full list of the AIM Indie Award nominees:

Best Live Act
voted for by visitors to
Enter Shikari
Johnny Marr
The National

Independent Breakthrough of the Year
sponsored by 7digital
The 1975
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Palma Violets
Public Service Broadcasting

Hardest Working Band or Artist
The Computers
Enter Shikari
Frankie & The Heartstrings
Sam Lee

Best 'Difficult' Second Album
in association with Xfm
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts
Major Lazer – Free The Universe
Villagers – {Awayland}
The xx – Coexist

Best Small Label
sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services
Alcopop! Records
Gringo Records
Rocket Girl
Too Pure Singles Club

Special Catalogue Release of the Year
in association with Amazon
Bonobo – The North Borders
Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition
The Horrors – Higher
Various Artists – Kenya Special
Various Artists – Scared to get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival
sponsored by UK Music in association with AIF & DIY
Hebridean Celtic Festival
In The Woods
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival

Independent Video of the Year
sponsored by Vevo
Childhood – Solemn Skies
David Byrne & St Vincent – Who
Django Django – WOR
Grimes – Genesis
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop
The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies

Indie Champion Award
sponsored by Consolidated Independent
Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music
Joe Sparrow – A New Band a Day
John Kennedy – Xfm
Lauren Laverne – BBC 6music
Lawrence Montgomery – Rise Music

Independent Track of the Year
in association with Spotify
Daughter – Youth
Jagwar Ma – The Throw
Palma Violets – Best of Friends
Passenger – Let Her Go
TNGHT – Higher Ground
Vampire Weekend – Diane Young

Independent Album of the Year
in association with Record Store Day
Daughter – If You Leave
David Byrne & St Vincent – Love This Giant
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light
Jagwar Ma – Howlin
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts
Jon Hopkins – Immunity
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away

Public Service Broadcasting- Inform-Educate-Entertain
Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City
The xx – Coexist

Independent Label of the Year
in association with Coutts
Bella Union
Cooking Vinyl
[PIAS] Recordings

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act
The 2 Bears
Alabama Shakes
Alt J
Django Django
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis